Creating an episode is the first step of recording in Zencastr. Episodes are the space within which you and your guests record and link to the page that stores recording files (aka Recording Page). The episode’s recording mode determines whether video viewing is enabled during the call and whether just audio or both audio and video is recorded

In this article:

Episode Naming

Creating Episodes

Recording Modes

Changing Recording Modes

Related Questions

Episode Naming

An episode’s name:

  1. Becomes part of the URL for the Recording Page for that episode.

  2. Is visible to your guests as the title of their green room and their link to join the Recording Page.

  3. Cannot be changed once the episode is created.

  4. Must be unique; it cannot be the same as a previously created episode.

Creating Episodes

To create an episode:

  1. From the Dashboard, click Create New Episode.

  2. Enter the episode’s name.

  3. Confirm the recording mode or select a different mode.

  4. Click Create.

Recording Modes

Recording Modes Comparison

Record Audio

and Video

Record Audio Only, Show Video

Record Audio Only

Records audio in MP3

Records audio in WAV

✓ for pro users

✓ for pro users

✓ for pro users

Records video in MOV

Video viewing in call enabled

Microphone access required

Camera access required

Record Audio and Video (aka Record Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are a pro user).

  • Records video in separate MOV files for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the call if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires hosts and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record Audio Only, Show Video (aka Show Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are a pro user).

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the call if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires hosts and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record Audio Only (aka No Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are a pro user).

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns off the video display.

  • Requires hosts and guests to allow access to their microphone only.

Changing Recording Modes

Changes to the recording mode:

  • Can be made at any time before recording.
    📝 If guests are in the Recording Page when the host changes the recording mode, the Recording Page reloads and guests are taken back through the green room to make sure their computer has the specs and hardware access needed for the new mode.

  • Cannot be made while a recording is in progress.

  • Can be made on different recordings within the same episode.

To change the selected recording mode:

  1. From the Dashboard, click on an episode.

  2. Select the recording mode from the recording type dropdown.

Result:

  • The Recording Page reloads for the host.

  • If guests are in the Recording Page when the host changes the recording mode, the Recording Page reloads and guests are taken back through the green room to make sure their computer has the specs and hardware access needed for the new mode.

Related Questions

How do I invite guests to join my episode/Recording Page/call?

See Inviting Guests.

Is an episode scheduled for a specific date and time in Zencastr? How do I schedule my episodes?

Episodes are not scheduled in Zencastr for specific dates and times. You and your guests can meet in the episode’s Recording Page at any time. You should inform your guests separately as to what date and time to meet you in the episode’s Recording Page via calendar invites, emails, or your preferred method.

How do I change an episode’s name?

Once an episode has been created, you cannot change the episode's name.

How do I delete an episode?

See Archiving Episodes.

Did this answer your question?