Creating a room is the first step to record in Zencastr. A room contains the Recording Page(s), the space(s) where you and your guests meet and record. It is also where participants’ files are stored after the recording.

The recording mode determines whether just audio or both audio and video are recorded and whether participants can see each other while recording

In this article:

Room Naming

Creating Rooms

Recording Modes

Changing Recording Modes

Related Questions

Room Naming

A room’s name:

  1. Becomes part of the URL for the Recording Page.

  2. Is visible to your guests in their link to join the Recording Page.

  3. Cannot be changed once the room is created.

  4. Must be unique; it cannot be the same as a previously created room.

Creating Rooms

To create a room:

  1. Click New at the top right of the Dashboard.

  2. Select Room from the dropdown.

  3. Enter the room’s name.

  4. Select the primary language for the recording.

  5. Select a show, or leave it as the default, playground.

  6. Select a recording mode.

  7. Click Create.

Recording Modes

Recording Modes Comparison

Record audio
and video

Record audio. Show video

Record audio.
No video.

Records audio in MP3

Records audio in WAV

✔ on paid plans

✔ on paid plans

✔ on paid plans

Records video in MOV

Video displays enabled

Microphone access required

Camera access required

Record audio and video (aka Record Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are on a paid plan).

  • Records video in separate MOV files for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the recording if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record audio. Show video (aka Show Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are on a paid plan).

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the recording if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record audio. No video (aka No Video, Record Audio)

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant (and also WAV files if you are on a paid plan).

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns off the video display so that hosts and guests cannot see each other during the recording.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to their microphone only.

Changing Recording Modes

Changes to the recording mode:

  • Can be made at any time before the host starts a recording.

    • If guests are on the Recording Page when the host changes the recording mode, the Recording Page reloads and guests are taken back through the green room to make sure their computer has the specs and hardware access needed for the new mode.

  • Cannot be made while a recording is in progress.

  • Can be made on different recordings within the same room.

To change the selected recording mode:

  1. From the Dashboard, Rooms tab, click on a Room name.

  2. On the Recording Page, select the recording mode from the recording type dropdown.

Result:

  • The Recording Page reloads for the host.

  • If guests are in the Recording Page when the host changes the recording mode, the Recording Page reloads and guests are taken back through the green room to make sure their computer has the specs and hardware access needed for the new mode.

Related Questions

How do I invite guests to join my room/Recording Page/call?

See Inviting Guests.

Is a recording scheduled for a specific date and time in Zencastr? How do I schedule my recording?

Recordings are not scheduled in Zencastr for specific dates and times. You and your guests can meet on the room’s Recording Page at any time. You should inform your guests separately as to what date and time to meet you on the room’s Recording Page via calendar invites, emails, or your preferred method.

How do I change a room’s name?

Once a room has been created, you cannot change its name because that name is part of the recording link. If you haven’t recorded in the room, you can archive it and then create a new room.

Did this answer your question?