Skip to main content
All CollectionsManaging Your AccountCloud Drive
Using a Connected Dropbox or Google Drive Account
Using a Connected Dropbox or Google Drive Account

How to connect a cloud storage account to your Zencastr account. How files are synced to the cloud account after recording or postproduction

Updated this week

Users on paid plans can connect either a Dropbox or Google Drive account to Zencastr. Once connected, your recording and postproduction files will be saved in the cloud storage account in addition to being saved on the Zencastr Session Pages.

In this article:

Connecting Dropbox

To connect your Zencastr account to your Dropbox account, first sign into your Dropbox account, then:

  1. On your Dashboard, click your avatar on the bottom of the left sidebar menu.

  2. Select Settings from the menu.

  3. On the Settings tab, click Cloud.

  4. Click Connect Dropbox.

  5. Read the authorization popup and click Allow.

Connecting Google Drive

To connect your Zencastr account to your Google Drive account:

  1. On your Dashboard, click your avatar on the bottom of the left sidebar menu.

  2. Select Settings from the menu.

  3. On the Settings tab, click Cloud.

  4. Click Connect Google Drive.

  5. Select your Google account and sign in if prompted.

  6. Read the authorization popup and click Allow.

Disconnecting Dropbox or Google Drive

To disconnect your Dropbox or Google Drive account from your Zencastr account:

  1. On your Dashboard, click your avatar on the bottom of the left sidebar menu.

  2. Select Settings from the menu.

  3. On the Settings tab, click Cloud.

  4. Click Disconnect.

Changing Dropbox or Google Drive

To change your Dropbox account or Google Drive account for another, in Zencastr:

  1. In the Dashboard, follow the above steps to disconnect your current account.

  2. In the Dashboard, follow the above steps to connect another account.

How Files Sync to Dropbox

The folder hierarchy for Dropbox is Apps > Zencastr > [Session name] > Recording-[#] (> Postproductions). After the host stops the recording, the Session name folder will be created in the Zencastr folder. After participants’ files finish uploading on the Zencastr Recording Page, the recording files will sync to the Recording Number folder. After a postproduction is run and the process completes, the postproduction files will sync to the Postproductions folder. Locate the correct folder and download the needed files.

How Files Sync to Google Drive

The folder hierarchy for Dropbox is Apps > Zencastr > [Session name] > Recording-[#] (> Postproductions). After the host stops the recording, the Session name folder will be created in the Zencastr folder. After participants’ files finish uploading on the Zencastr Recording Page, the recording files will sync to the Recording Number folder. After a postproduction is run and the process completes, the postproduction files will sync to the Postproductions folder. Locate the correct folder and download the needed files.

Related Questions

Can I sync my files to a different Dropbox folder? Can I change the folder my files go to?

It is not possible to change the location of where the files sync and this is due to a Dropbox limitation. Currently, Dropbox only allows us to send files to the “Zencastr” folder under the “Apps” folder of the linked account. Dropbox also doesn’t allow one shared folder to be moved into another shared folder. The “Zencastr” folder is considered a shared folder so it can’t be easily moved into another folder.

Can I sync my files to a different Google Drive folder? Can I change the folder my files go to?

It is not possible to change the location of where the files sync and this is due to a Google Drive limitation. Currently, Google Drive only allows us to send files to the “Zencastr” folder on the personal drive of the linked account. If you move the location of the “Zencastr” folder on your drive, when you next record a new “Zencastr” folder will be created and your files will be synced there instead of to the previous “Zencastr” folder you moved to the new location.

What happens if I archive a recording or session within Zencastr, what effect does it have on my files in Dropbox or Google Drive?

Before archiving a recording or session, check that your Zencastr files have been fully uploaded to your Dropbox or Google Drive storage account. Once the recording files are uploaded to Dropbox or Google Drive, archiving the recording or session within Zencastr will not affect the files within your cloud storage account.

What happens if I delete my files within my Dropbox or Google Drive account, what effect does it have on my files in Zencastr?

Before deleting files in Dropbox or in Google Drive, make sure this is what you want to do. However, deleting Dropbox or Google Drive will not affect the files within your Zencastr account. Your files will still be available for download in Zencastr if they are deleted in your cloud storage account. If you unintentionally delete a file within your cloud storage account, follow Dropbox’s recovery steps or Google Drive’s recovery steps to try to restore it.

Did this answer your question?