Skip to main content

Sync recordings to Dropbox or Google Drive

How to connect a cloud storage account to your Zencastr account.

Who’s this article for? Hosts

You can connect Dropbox or Google Drive to automatically sync new recordings to your cloud storage. Once connected, your recording and postproduction files will be saved in the cloud storage account in addition to being saved in Zencastr.

Tip: Connect your cloud storage before recording so new files can sync automatically when they’re ready.

Connect to Dropbox or Google Drive

Follow the instructions below to connect cloud storage.

  1. Click on your Profile icon in the lower-left corner of the screen.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click the Cloud tab.

  4. Connect Dropbox or Google Drive to Zencastr.

  5. If prompted, sign into your account.

  6. Click Allow on the authorization pop-up.

  7. Once connected, new recordings will automatically sync to your selected storage.

Disconnecting Dropbox or Google Drive

Follow the instructions below to disconnect Dropbox or Google Drive.

  1. Click on your Profile icon in the lower-left corner of the screen.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click the Cloud tab.

  4. Click Disconnect next to the cloud storage you want to to disconnect.

How files sync to Google Drive

Files sync to Google Drive using this folder hierarchy: Apps > Zencastr > [Session name] > Recording-[#] (> Postproductions).

  • After the host stops the recording, Zencastr creates the session's folder inside the Zencastr folder.

  • Once participants' files finish uploading on the Zencastr recording page, the recording files sync to the Recording folder.

  • Once a postproduction completes, those files sync to the Postproductions folder.

Locate the folder you need and download the files.

How files sync to Dropbox

Files sync to Dropbox using this folder hierarchy: Apps > Zencastr > [Session name] > Recording-[#] (> Postproductions).

  • After the host stops the recording, Zencastr creates the session's folder inside the Zencastr folder.

  • Once participants' files finish uploading on the Zencastr recording page, the recording files sync to the Recording folder.

  • Once a postproduction completes, those files sync to the Postproductions folder.

Locate the folder you need and download the files.

Related questions

Can I sync my files to a different Dropbox folder? Can I change the folder my files go to?

Dropbox only allows files to sync to the "Zencastr" folder inside "Apps" on the linked account. Dropbox also doesn’t allow one shared folder to be moved into another shared folder. The “Zencastr” folder is considered a shared folder so it can’t be easily moved into another folder.

Can I sync my files to a different Google Drive folder? Can I change the folder my files go to?

Google only allows files to sync to the “Zencastr” folder on the personal drive of the linked account. If you move the location of the “Zencastr” folder on your drive, when you next record a new “Zencastr” folder will be created and your files will be synced there instead of to the previous “Zencastr” folder you moved to the new location.

Does archiving a recording in Zencastr affect my files in Dropbox or Google Drive?

No, as long as your files finished uploading to your cloud storage account before you archived the recording or session. Once uploaded, archiving in Zencastr has no effect on the files in your cloud storage account.

Does deleting files in Dropbox or Google Drive affect my files in Zencastr?

No. Files deleted from your cloud storage account remain available for download in Zencastr. If you delete a file unintentionally, follow Dropbox's recovery steps or Google Drive's recovery steps to restore it.

Did this answer your question?