Skip to main content
All CollectionsMobile Recording
Creating Rooms on the iOS App
Creating Rooms on the iOS App

What rooms are and how to create them on the Zencastr iOS app. What the 3 recording modes are and how to select and change them.

Updated over a week ago

Creating a room is the first step to record in Zencastr. A room contains the Recording Page(s), the space(s) where you and your guests meet and record. It is also where participants’ files are stored after the recording.

The recording mode determines whether only audio, or both audio and video, are recorded and if participants can see each other while recording.

The steps below are for the mobile app for iPhone and iPad. See this article to create rooms and change recording modes from your computer browser.

In this article:

Room Naming

A room’s name:

  • Becomes part of the URL for the Recording Page.

  • Is visible to your guests in their link to join the Recording Page.

  • Cannot be changed once the room is created.

  • Must be unique; it cannot be the same as a previously created room.

Creating Rooms

To create a room:

  1. Log in to your Zencastr account on the iOS app.

  2. Click the plus + button at the bottom of the app.

  3. Select the Create button.

  4. Enter the room’s name.

  5. Tap the show menu to select a show, or leave it as the default, playground.

  6. Click Create.

Recording Modes

Recording Modes Comparison

Record Audio & Video

Record Audio, Show Video

Record Audio Only

Records audio in MP3

Records video in MOV

Video displays enabled

Microphone access required

Camera access required

Record Audio & Video

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant.

  • Records video in separate MOV files for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the recording if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record Audio, Show Video

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant.

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns on the video display that allows you and your guests to see each other during the recording if everyone has a camera selected and turned on.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to both their microphone and camera.

Record Audio Only

This mode:

  • Records audio in separate MP3 files for each participant.

  • Does not record video for each participant.

  • Turns off the video display so that hosts and guests cannot see each other during the recording.

  • Requires host and guests to allow access to their microphone only.

Changing Recording Modes

Changes to the recording mode:

  • Can be made at any time before the host starts a recording.

  • Cannot be made while a recording is in progress.

To change the selected recording mode on the iOS app:

  1. From the mobile dashboard, click Join on a room.

  2. Near the bottom, below your video display, slide to select a new recording mode.

Related Questions

How do I invite guests to join my room/Recording Page/call?

Is a recording scheduled for a specific date and time in Zencastr? How do I schedule my recording?

Recordings are not scheduled in Zencastr for specific dates and times. You and your guests can meet on the room’s Recording Page at any time. You should inform your guests separately as to what date and time to meet you on the room’s Recording Page via calendar invites, emails, or your preferred method.

How do I change a room’s name?

Once a room has been created, you cannot change its name because that name is part of the recording link. If you haven’t recorded in the room, you can archive it from your computer browser and then create a new room.

Did this answer your question?