Skip to main content

New recording experience: create a recording room

Who’s this article for? Hosts

Zencastr is rolling out a new recording experience. If this is the version you’re using, you’re in the right place. If your recording room looks different, see this article instead.

Every recording starts with a recording room. This is the room where you and your guests come together. When you create one, you also choose the recording type that fits what you're making.

Recording room names

  • Becomes part of the URL for the recording room.

  • Is visible to your guests in their link to join the recording room.

  • Can't be changed once the recording room is created.

  • The name must be unique. If you try to create a room with a duplicate name, you'll see the error message: "Another chat with the same name already exists."

Creating a recording room

Follow the instructions below to create your recording room.

  1. Click + New from the left navigation bar.

  2. If it’s your first time recording in Zencastr, click Allow for camera and microphone access.

  3. Enter a Name (your show, episode, or guest, you'll search by it later).

  4. Click the Settings icon.

  5. Select the language you'll be recording in.

    1. Note: Zencastr supports transcriptions for the following languages: English, French, Hindi, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Dutch; Flemish.

  6. Select a recording mode. Learn more about recording modes.

  7. When you're done, click X to close the pop-up.

  8. Click the ^ button next to the Microphone icon to select your microphone and speakers.

  9. Click the ^ button next to the Camera icon to select your camera.

  10. Click Create Chat.

  11. You’ll land in your new recording room.

Once you’re in your recording room, you can configure your recording room settings, invite guests, and start recording when you’re ready.

FAQs

Can I change the name of my recording room after I created it?

The recording room's name is set when you create it and can't be changed later. If you haven’t recorded in the room yet, you can archive it and then create a new recording room. If you have recorded in the room, you can change the individual recording names instead.

Can I create my recording room now and use it later?

Yes, you can create a recording room and return to it later. From the Recent Chats tab, find the recording room chat you created, click on it, then click Join Recording Room in the upper right corner.

Can I switch recording modes after I created my recording room?

Yes, after you've created your recording room you can switch your recording mode. Make any changes before you start recording, once you start recording you'll be unable to change the recording mode.

Did this answer your question?